Cheerios Recalls Gluten Free Cereal Contaminated With Wheat: Here’s What You Need To Know

General Mills has recalled 1.8 million boxes of  Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios cereals due to the fact that wheat flour may have accidentally been introduced into products labeled as gluten-free. Those with a wheat allergy, celiac disease, or gluten intolerance, are warned not to eat cereal from boxes marked with the following “Better If Used By” dates:

The products in question were produced at the company’s Lodi, California facility on certain dates, and may trigger illness or severe reactions for people with wheat allergies, celiac disease, or gluten intolerance.

“I am embarrassed and truly sorry,” said Jim Murphy, president of General Mills’ cereal. “Our Lodi production facility lost rail service for a time … In an isolated incident involving purely human error, wheat flour was inadvertently introduced into our gluten-free oat flour system at Lodi.”

Mr. Murphy also stated that additional protocols have been instituted at all Cheerios facilities to make sure that this accident does not recur.

“Please know that our oat supply was not the issue,” Mr. Murphy assured customers. “We tested our oat supply on these dates, and the oat supply tested as gluten free. We also tested the specific oat flour being used at Lodi, and our oat flour supply also tested as gluten free on the dates in question.”

You can read Jim Murphy’s full open letter to Cheerio’s customers here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: