As of January 1, 2016, you’ll be legally allowed to carry any handgun openly or concealed as long as you have a license via the State of Texas or other state with reciprocity. What’s that mean? Let’s check out the rules:
- By law, your handgun must be secured in a shoulder or belt holster. Of course, no responsible gun owner would walk around waving their gun about, or leaving it where a child or criminal could grab it. So, unless you have the unfortunate need to use your weapon, keep it holstered.
- Not all businesses will allow you to open carry on their premises. It’s also smart and polite, especially when walking into a business that might be a hotter target for robbers (such as a bank, liquor store, or gas station) to conceal carry by default unless you’re certain they’re OK with open carry.
- Nope, you can’t take a gun to school with you. While campus carry is legal as of August 1, 2016, your gun will still need to remain concealed and you must have a handgun license. To get a license you must be 21 years old. So, yeah, your teacher could be packing.
- If you’ve been convicted of certain crimes, or suffer from a mental illness or disability, you can’t carry a firearm. Period.
- Minors (people under 18 years of age) cannot open carry without a parent present.
- Your open carry gun can be loaded for quick response in case of emergency. In fact, it’s smart to assume that any gun is loaded unless you’re absolutely certain.
- If you’ve got a license to open carrying a gun, you’re also allowed to conceal carry it.
For more interested facts, please check out www.OpenCarryTexas.org/faq.html.
This article contains general information about legal matters. The information is not intended to be legal advice, and cannot substitute for the legal advise of a licensed professional. Stay informed and read up on Texas laws.