YMCA Announces MLK Day Of Service, Monday, January 16

MLK Day of Service is a federal holiday observed as a national day of service. It calls for Americans from all walks of life to work together to provide solutions to issues we face everyday in our communities.

On Monday, January 16, YMCAs throughout the city will host service events to celebrate Martin Luther King, Jr. Day of Service. We invite you to join us, so we can make our community stronger and a better place for all.

For more information on MLK Day of Service, please contact sherryb@ymcahouston.org.

VOLUNTEERING OPPORTUNITIES

For more information, please visit www.YMCAHouston.org/MLK-Service

YMCA Name Project Description Contact Email Address

M.D. Anderson Family YMCA

Community safety audit, mural completion and peace walk. Amber Humphrey amber.humphrey@ymcahouston.org
Harriet and Joe Foster Family YMCA Working in the wildflower garden and debris pickup along the trails of Buffalo Bayou Park.

Dawn Dunn

dawnd@ymcahouston.org
Alief Family YMCA Collecting, sorting and delivering food pantry items. Margot McIntosh margotm@ymcahouston.org
Monty Ballard YMCA at Cinco Ranch Bagging food pantry items to benefit St. Vincent De Paul. Kashala Pope kashalap@ymcahouston.org
Vic Coppinger Family YMCA Preparing for spring planting for the Forgotten Angels facility. Forgotten Angels is a center of adults with mental disabilities. Stephanie Moore stephanie.moore@ymcahouston.org
Cossaboom Family YMCA and Tellepsen Family Downtown YMCA Beautification projects at DeZavala Elementary school. Projects will include gardening, landscaping, pressure washing, and painting. Mireya Corona

Bruce Jacobs

mireya.corona@ymcahouston.org

bruce.jacobs@ymcahouston.org

Conroe Family YMCA Building 2 shelters to help keep the horses out of the elements throughout the year. Lauren Waechter lauren.waechter@ymcahouston.org
West Orem Family YMCA Assisting refugee farmers on a Community Garden project. Akua Yamoah akua.yamoah@ymcahouston.org
Huntsville Family YMCA Cleaning and organizing SAAFE House, a shelter that provides women and children of abuse housing and counseling services. Dorian Nero dorian.nero@ymcahouston.org
Wendel D. Ley Family YMCA Beautification project at the wildscape garden at Sheldon Lake State Park. Alyska Malveaux alyska.malveaux@ymcahouston.org
Thelma Ley Anderson Family YMCA Planning activities for the local Senior Center that will include exercise, reading books, talking and playing individual and group games with the over 100 residents. Jami Huygens jamih@ymcahouston.org
Aldine Greenspoint Family YMCA and D. Bradley McWilliams YMCA Assembling 100 personal hygiene care packages and delivering them to the Depriest Outreach Mission. Beautification project (painting) Depriest Outreach Mission. Edna Pulido and DeAndra Edwards-Stanley edna.pulido@ymcahouston.org
Langham Creek Family YMCA In partnership with Pool of Life and Cy-Fair Helping Hands, assembling bags of essentials to be given out be given to Cy-Fair’s homeless population. Michelle Steffes michelle.steffes@ymcahouston.org
Connect Minor construction and painting to update classrooms utilized for ELL classes. Patty Schnabel pattys@ymcahouston.org
Weekley Family YMCA Making care packages for homeless individuals in our community. Tamina C Allen tamina.allen@ymcahouston.org
Fort Bend Family YMCA Fort Bend Women’s Center Pennywise Resale Center Restocking, Organizing, & possibly Building Wheel Chair Accessibility Ramp. Alicia Bergeron Jarrett alicia.bergeronjarrett@ymcahouston.org
Houston Texans YMCA  Hosting a Diaper Drive to collect diapers for families in need and Beautification project in the Palm Center Plaza. Daphne Warren Watt daphne.warrenwatts@ymcahouston.org

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: